Oakley Selected to NJCAA All-Star Game

Oakley Selected to NJCAA All-Star Game

Louisburg College sophomore forward, Jordan Oakley will participate in the NJCAA Men's Basketball Coaches All-Star Game presented by the NABC.  Oakley led the Hurricanes to a National Tournament appearance in 2017-18.

The NJCAA Men's Basketball Coaches Association announced the roster for the 2018 NJCAA Men's Basketball Coaches All-Star Game presented by the NABC. 24 NJCAA players, 12 from Division I and six each from Division II and III, have been invited to Las Vegas, N.V. for the annual game on Saturday, May 19 at 4:30 pm at The Orleans Arena.


NJCAA Division I Player of the Year Charles Jones Jr., from Southern Idaho, highlights the participants on the Division I roster. Jones, also named a First Team All-American, averaged 19.7 points, 3.6 rebounds and 3.7 assists per game this season. First Team All-Americans, Isaiah Tisdale from Vincennes University and Shane Gatling from Indian Hills, also earned invitations to the All-Star Game. 


The rest of the Division I roster includes Carlos Dotson (Central Florida), Kur Kuath (Salt Lake), Travis Washington (Coffeyville), Myron Gordon (Harcum), Chaz Mack (Cochise College), Jaiveon Eaves (John A. Logan), Michael Nuga (Eastern Florida State), Austin Trice (Wabash Valley), and Jashawn Talton (McLennan).


Jared Phay, head coach at the College of Southern Idaho, has been named the head coach of the Division I All-Stars. This season, Phay helped lead the Golden Eagles to a 31-6 record and an appearance in the NJCAA Division I Championship game where they fell to South Plains, 98-95.


For the Division II/III team, Division II Player of the Year Tray Croft, from Iowa Central, and Division III Player of the Year Collin Turner from Montgomery, highlight the roster. Croft, a First Team All-American, finished the season with 27.5 points and 6.6 rebounds per game. Turner, also a First Team All-American, recorded 28 points and 4.6 rebounds per game this season. 


Dontae Terrell (Triton), Holden Redparth (Highland (Kan.)), and Quintin Dove (Cuyahoga) round out the Division II First Team All-Americans on the roster, while Mario Young (Joliet) rounds out the Division III First-Team honorees.


The remaining participants include Jordan Oakley (Louisburg), Dee Montgomery (Arkansas State Mid-South), Goree Venable (Sullivan), Mason Harrell (Sandhills), and Jalen Burgess (Nassau).


Triton's Steve Christiansen, NJCAA Division II Men's Basketball Coach of the Year, and Nassau's A.J. Wynder have been chosen to coach the Division II/III team. Christiansen helped lead Triton to an NJCAA Division II National Championship victory this season, while Wynder also helped lead Nassau to a national championship appearance.